I wouldn’t normally have made the effort to see this show so thanks are due to the RWA for having an open day last Saturday. Grafitti Art has been around since the 1980s and to be honest I’d always thought that unless it was produced by genuinely poor and underpriveledged angry kids it was all a bit of a pose. One of my objections to Banksy has always been, paradoxically, that his work has always been a little bit too considered and polished to be produced by somebody who supposedly spends all day smoking ketamine and running away from the police. I was a bit suprised to find out that he used to be a pupil at Bristol Cathedral School however. Of course the other side of the coin is that just because it may be produced by the authentic voice of the streets or whatever doesn’t mean that it’s going to be any good either. As you can see I have reservations
So, thankfully no Banksy and no posturing but a lot of genuine drawing ability, energy and witty use of materials. I mean I’m not sure what the dinosaur version of Clifton Wood is really supposed to be about or whether the giant painting of the heroic looking man with the spraycan means anything aside from the fact that he has a really cute girlfriend (really should be wearing a mask as well though from a health and safety point of view) but you have to have a heart of stone to not be able to see thow well done they are. The work that made the biggest impression on me were Filthy Luker’s street sculptures but there are fifty other artist’s work on display here and they’re all worth a look.